7 reasons why 2012 absolutely rocked

I started the year with this question & post.

A LOT happened in 2012, these are the top 7 highlights!

__________________________________________________________________

1. One important decision

__________________________________________________________________

In January, I was planning on going to India for 2 years, and would have been isolated away from everything, to study. But I made a decision not to and withdrew my application, and these words were the inspiration behind it. So glad looking back. Create your own curriculum…

_________________________________________________________________

2. Ten days of pure silence & 100 hours of meditation

_________________________________________________________________

I completed a 10 day meditation retreat in Hereford. 4.30am starts, no talking for 10 days, no phones, books, exercise. Just 10 hours a day of meditating. Toughest thing I’ve ever done, but it was worth it and I got a lot out of it – that I’m still seeing the impact of all that hard work now. And the best thing is, it’s FREE to do and completely run by volunteers. So while you’re meditating, someone has taken TIME OFF WORK to cook, clean etc for you – and you won’t even get to see/speak to them. Real selfless service. It’s maintained by donations made by previous meditators (so your bed, food, etc is paid for by someone else who did the course before you). What a fantastic model. – “If you aren’t afraid of the voices inside of you. You will not fear those critics outside of you”

____________________________________________________________

4. Three months in Botswana

____________________________________________________________

Something I'd wanted to do for so long - in April I went to Botswana for 3 months to volunteer with Skillshare International. While we were there we...

Something I’d wanted to do for SO long – from April I spent 3 months volunteering in Botswana. You can read more about what we did in my ‘Botswana 2012′ posts. Below is one  personal highlight – weekly motivational talks to 1200 students at a local high school in order to increase their engagement & attainment with education!

__________________________________________________________

5. One week in Dhaka, Bangladesh

__________________________________________________________

Jaago Foundation

I was fortunate enough to be selected to represent the British Council in Bangladesh for an International Study Visit on Youth Participation & Leadership. Met some amazing people, doing amazing things around the world.

Roundtable discussion with David Blunkett & other Active Citizens in Parliament. Never pictured this at the beginning of the year.

Roundtable discussion with David Blunkett & other Active Citizens in Parliament. Never pictured me being here of all places, at the beginning of the year.

Kids in Sylhet

_______________________________________________________________

6. Starting my own business & social enterprise – Revolution Hive

_______________________________________________________________

If you told me I'd start my own business this year, I would never have believed you. Just goes to show anything is possible. Wish me luck for 2013 & beyond!

If you told me I’d start my own business this year, I would never have believed you. Ever. Just goes to show anything is possible. Wish me luck for 2013 & beyond!

I appeared live on Sky News to talk about Youth Unemployment in the UK. Just by getting myself out there, and being recommended by somebody I'd met 2 days before. 70% of success, is just showing up.

I appeared live on Sky News to talk about Youth Unemployment in the UK. Just by getting myself out there, and being recommended by somebody I’d met 2 days before. 70% of success, is just showing up.

___________________________________________________________

8. Find out what you want.

Then go get it. Period

__________________________________________________________

I've added this because I learnt an important lesson - be persistent. If you want something, keep trying & your efforts won't be in vain. Even though I was asked to step down, it has given me a lot more self belief that I have a lot more going for me than I thought and if somebody as celebrated as Melody Hossaini thinks so, then I should too. Huge huge lesson.

I’ve added this because I learnt an important lesson – be persistent. If you want something, keep trying & your efforts won’t be in vain. Even though I was asked to step down after MONTHS of trying to get this opportunity, it has given me a lot more self belief that I have a lot more going for me than I thought and if somebody as celebrated as Melody Hossaini thinks so, then I should too. Huge huge lesson – Be patient, true to what you believe & keep persevering.

____________________________________________________________

7. Modern Mythology:

Superheroes & the Hindu Tradition

____________________________________________________________

I’d like to deliver this workshop/talk across all the UK in 2013. This one was a ‘test run’ but went better than I expected.

What people thought of the talk/workshop. Was great to get such nice comments - I was worried people would find it crap/boring and I spent SO long trying to make sure I had prepared well!!!

A feedback form someone filled in which asked what people thought of the talk/workshop. Was GREAT to get such nice comments – esp after I was worried people would find it crap/boring and I spent SO long trying to make sure I had prepared well!!! Can’t wait to make it better, and do more of these.

4 responses to “7 reasons why 2012 absolutely rocked

  1. Pingback: 10 Reasons Why 2013 was game changing | Words For People·

Leave a Reply

